Research Specialties

submenu

The research conducted at CDD includes design, discovery and development of therapeutics for various conditions affecting human health. These diverse conditions include cancer, neurological disorders, viral diseases etc. Along with a proven track record of success in developing compounds of medicinal interest (carbovir and abacavir), CDD has added more drug candidates to its growing repertoire. In another significant development, several cosmetic companies have shown interest in the 'CDD Functional Cosmetic' compound for the prevention and boost in activation of skin rejuvenating enzymes for people suffering from, or susceptible to, various forms of skin cancers.

Research specialties

Antibiotics

Antibiotics

Courtney C. AldrichCourtney Aldrich, PhD
Mycobacterium tuberculosis and Gram negative bacteria including Acinetobacter baumannii, Klebsiella pneumonia, and Pseudomonas aeroginosa
aldri015@umn.edu


Krzysztof PankiewiczKrzysztof Pankiewicz, PhD
Drug-resistant Tuberculosis

panki001@umn.edu

Steve PattersonSteve Patterson, PhD
Blocking Cell Wall Synthesis
patte219@umn.edu

Christine SalomonChristine Salomon, PhD
Microbials, Natural Products, & Biofilm
csalomon@umn.edu

Yuk ShamYuk Sham, PhD
Drug Resistance
shamx002@umn.edu

Antitumor Studies

Antitumor Studies

Robert VinceRobert Vince, PhD 
Synthesis and Study of Mechanism of Antitumor Agents
vince001@umn.edu

Liqiang ChenLiqiang Chen, PhD
General Anticancer Agents
chenx462@umn.edu

David FergusonDavid Ferguson, PhD
Vaccine adjuvants, SAR studies
ferguson@umn.edu

Stephen HechtStephen S. Hecht, PhD
Behavior and Detoxification of Carcinogens in the Body
hecht002@umn.edu

Thomas HoyeThomas R. Hoye, PhD
Natural Products and Angiogenesis
hoye@chem.umn.edu

Krzysztof PankiewiczKrzysztof Pankiewicz, PhD
Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia
panki001@umn.edu

Steve PattersonSteven Patterson, PhD
Cellular Differentiation
patte219@umn.edu

Christine SalomonChristine Salomon, PhD
Anticancer Natural Products
csalomon@umn.edu

Yuk ShamYuk Sham, PhD
Leukemia, Drug Resistance
shamx002@umn.edu

W. Thomas ShierW. Thomas Shier, PhD
Carcinogenic Effects of Mycotoxins, Aflatoxins, and Fumonisins
shier001@umn.edu

Cardiovascular

Cardiovascular

Gene Therapy

Gene Therapy

W. Thomas ShierW. Thomas Shier, PhD
Non-viral Gene Delivery Methods
shier001@umn.edu

Neurological Disorders

Neurological Disorders

Robert VinceRobert Vince, PhD
Alzheimer Early Detection Methods and Chemotherapeutic Treatment
vince001@umn.edu

Liqiang ChenLiqiang Chen, PhD
Parkinson's Disease
chenx462@umn.edu

Swati MoreSwati More, PhD
Alzheimer Early Detection Methods and Chemotherapeutic Treatment
morex002@umn.edu

Herbert NagasawaHerbert Nagasawa, PhD
Parkinson's Disease and Delivery of Drugs to the Brain
nagas001@umn.edu

Paul TuitePaul Tuite, PhD
Parkinson's Disease and other Movement Disorders
tuite002@umn.edu

George WilcoxGeorge L. Wilcox, PhD
Neurotransmission of Pain
george@med.umn.edu

Pesticides

Pesticides

W. Thomas ShierW. Thomas Shier, PhD
Activity of Betulin from Birch Bark
shier001@umn.edu

Toxins

Toxins

Robert VinceRobert Vince, PhD
Detoxification of Cyanide
vince001@umn.edu

Herbert NagasawaHerbert Nagasawa, PhD
Detoxification of Cyanide
nagas001@umn.edu

Steve PattersonSteve Patterson, PhD
Detoxification of Cyanide
patte219@umn.edu

Viral Diseases

Viral Diseases

Robert VinceRobert Vince, PhD
HIV, Herpes, Hepatitis B, and Heptatitis C
vince001@umn.edu

Liqiang ChenLiqiang Chen, PhD
HCV and West Nile virus
chenx462@umn.edu

Robert GeraghtyRobert Geraghty, PhD
HSV, Cytomegalovirus, HCV, West Nile virus, Influenza A virus, Coronaviruses
gerag012@umn.edu

Louis M. ManskyLouis M. Mansky, PhD
Replication of Human Retroviruses
mansky@umn.edu

Krzysztof PankiewiczKrzysztof Pankiewicz, PhD
West Nile Virus and other RNA Viruses
panki001@umn.edu

Yuk ShamYuk Sham, PhD
HIV/AIDS, HCV, Dengue
shamx002@umn.edu

Zhengqiang WangZhengqiang Wang, PhD
HIV, Hepatitis B, and Hepatits C
wangx472@umn.edu